Diplomatic Intel question

General discussion of the Victory by Any Means campaign system
mrapophenia
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 5:55 pm

Diplomatic Intel question

Postby mrapophenia » Fri May 05, 2017 2:02 pm

This might be a dumb question but I am confused on something about the Intel rules.

Looking at the rules for most Intel missions, it appears that you don't lose points of Intel in a system unless the roll goes badly and your agents are discovered. However, the rules sections on using Intel to affect the result of diplomatic rolls refers to "spending" Intel points.

If I use 3 Intel to get a 30% bonus on a roll to break a treaty, are those Intel points gone? Or does it just mean those are 3 points I can't use for something else this turn, but the Intel point level in those systems is not reduced?

User avatar
BroAdso
Commander
Commander
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 4:27 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Re: Diplomatic Intel question

Postby BroAdso » Sun May 07, 2017 4:34 pm

That's how I have always read this rule. I think of intel as "intel infrastructure," like listening bases, spy networks, supply caches, and so on. That's why it is only "in use" when you tap it for things like missions or diplomacy and never "gone" unless something goes badly wrong, and why it costs 10 EP per point or more to build up.

Here's an example of how I might use a very high, 8 Intel planet in one turn:

During Diplomacy
2 Intel to increase a treaty chance by 20%
During Intel Missions
6 remaining Intel to provide 5 offensive intel to a mission 2 jumps away.

mrapophenia
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 5:55 pm

Re: Diplomatic Intel question

Postby mrapophenia » Sun May 07, 2017 7:20 pm

Thanks! That is how I was reading it but I wanted to make sure.

One follow up question - in player to player diplomacy, intel can only be used by a player to make it more likely for their own government to successfully declare war or break a treaty, right? Accepting a treaty is entirely player decided.

However, it can be used to make NPEs more likely to accept a treaty.

Is this all correct?
Last edited by mrapophenia on Mon May 08, 2017 12:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BroAdso
Commander
Commander
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 4:27 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Re: Diplomatic Intel question

Postby BroAdso » Sun May 07, 2017 10:34 pm

Yes, the other player can always decide their own response.

I've occasionally wondered whether it would be fun or not to let players "force" others into things through diplomacy and use of intel, but that would probably depend on the nature of your player group.


Return to “Officer's Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest